Loading...

BIOS TS-X51,TS-X53 QW37AR36 (new method)

TS-251, TS-451, TS-253, TS-453, ...

  1. Silas Mariusz
    Online

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,591
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,792 / 37 / -8
    Followers:
    36
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    Silas Mariusz opublikował nowe elementy w zasobach:

    TS-X51,TS-X53 (wersja QW37AR22) - TS-251, TS-451, TS-253, TS-453, ...

    Czytaj więcej...
     
  2. buggy82
    Offline

    buggy82 Nowy użytkownik Noobie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -1
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x51
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x51 1 GbE
    Flashed this one on my TS-651. Flashing was successful, but device is dead when starting (No screen/LEDs).
    Qnap support recommended a newer BIOS file, which they host here: http://eu1.qnap.com/Storage/tsd/bios/QW37AR32.zip

    Now I have to find a way to get this on my dead device...
     
    • Dramatyzujesz Dramatyzujesz x 1
  3. Silas Mariusz
    Online

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,591
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,792 / 37 / -8
    Followers:
    36
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    Why did you do that flash?
    What was the reason?
     
  4. buggy82
    Offline

    buggy82 Nowy użytkownik Noobie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -1
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x51
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x51 1 GbE
    Had problems fixing a failed firmware update via USB, so disabled "USB 3 support" in BIOS. Bad idea. This setting does not disable "USB 3 support" but all USB ports completely. In former times you could remove the battery and CMOS is empty, but this new UEFI BIOS saves the settings in persistent memory. In the QNAP Wiki they say, you need to flash the BIOS....

    Is there a way to write the BIOS chip directy via serial connection? I should have waited for Qnap support and not install the old version here...
     
  5. Silas Mariusz
    Online

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,591
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,792 / 37 / -8
    Followers:
    36
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    Yeah. There is a way but kinda difficult... Are you sure you wanna try it?
    --- Połączono posty, Jun 25, 2017, Data oryginalnego postu: Jun 25, 2017 ---
    I'm gonna translate this tomorrow:
    ...
    but... I need to recheck this method
    Please describe your issue with all details and let me know what did you do before.
     
  6. buggy82
    Offline

    buggy82 Nowy użytkownik Noobie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -1
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x51
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x51 1 GbE
    Its out of warranty anyway. So yes. Just read post about BIOS recovery options, but I´m not sure which ones can be done on this board. Some boards have recovery jumpers or a persistent boot-block BIOS, which one can use to flash via floppy disks.
     
  7. Silas Mariusz
    Online

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,591
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,792 / 37 / -8
    Followers:
    36
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    The idea is to make bootable HDD with DOS OS and autoexec which is gonna to lunch bios update tool. But... wrong path to bios update file gonna brick your device. So... Are you sure?
     
  8. buggy82
    Offline

    buggy82 Nowy użytkownik Noobie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -1
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x51
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x51 1 GbE
    That is how I flashed this file here (QW37AR22.BIN). The update process completed successfully. Unfortunately, afterwards the device was dead.
    This is the guide I followed: How to flash BIOS if USB function is disable - QNAPedia
    --- Połączono posty, Jul 1, 2017, Data oryginalnego postu: Jul 1, 2017 ---
    I fixed the device by SPI flashing the correct BIOS version (QW37AR32). Will post a How-To later in main Qnap forums.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  9. Silas Mariusz
    Online

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,591
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,792 / 37 / -8
    Followers:
    36
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    This guide works well. I fixed several devices with it.
     
  10. buggy82
    Offline

    buggy82 Nowy użytkownik Noobie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -1
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x51
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x51 1 GbE
    When I´m done writing my HowTo, you will also be able to fix devices with completely dead BIOSes (aka bricked mainboards) using the undocumented JSPI1 connector on the mainboard.
     
  11. Silas Mariusz
    Online

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,591
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,792 / 37 / -8
    Followers:
    36
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    I've been working personally on this method mentioned in the wiki. It works 100%

    upload_2017-7-1_18-28-0.

    If you completely brick your BIOS the best idea is to flash it through JSPI1 as you say or flash chip on SPI Flash Programmer.
     
  12. buggy82
    Offline

    buggy82 Nowy użytkownik Noobie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -1
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x51
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x51 1 GbE
    Yes, the Qnap Wiki method works perfectly.
    The file here also flashed successfully.

    Other than it is a bit outdated, I really have no clue why this BIOS file here did not work on my TS-651.
    I stated the link to the official current BIOS version for QW37 boards in my first post above. Its hosted by QNAP.

    Maybe QNAP changed the BIOS chip models during production? Mine is a Winbond 25Q64FWSIG (aka W25Q64FWSIG).
    --- Połączono posty, Jul 2, 2017, Data oryginalnego postu: Jul 1, 2017 ---
    Hi Silas,

    As promised, I just completed the two HowTo´s:

    [HowTo] QNAP BIOS recovery of completely dead mainboard [SPI flash method] [x51, x53]
    [HowTo] Replace broken DOM module with a simple USB stick

    Thanks alot!
     
  13. Silas Mariusz
    Online

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,591
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,792 / 37 / -8
    Followers:
    36
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    Yeah your tut is great. But can you write it step-by-step for noobs? We could publish it on wiki and here.
     
  14. pigers
    Offline

    pigers zapytaj Silasa Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    10,655
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,610 / 38 / -20
    Followers:
    7
    QNAP:
    TS-653D
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-653D 1 GbE
  15. Silas Mariusz
    Online

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,591
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,792 / 37 / -8
    Followers:
    36
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
  16. pongan
    Offline

    pongan Nowy użytkownik Noobie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    Hello,
    I have a TS-453 PRO, and I have tried to update the BIOS from QW37AR22 to QW37AR36, I created usb boot disk with RMPrepUSB (following the instructions that I find in this forum), Freedos SO start correctly from USB
    View attachment alh3_googleusercontent_com_pC_9v91riKR8XYrBF6fYNvm9bl8qCn7pxd605ea69c292f111aa556d0c23830be4ba.jpg

    but when I run QW37AR36.BAT, AFUDOS.exe have a error that is showed in this image:
    View attachment alh3_googleusercontent_com_7wSOSp_1UaRFvL_5YuJtyF_2r1VM0_wOa_F370e3e5402353306ff526f32710e48a2.jpg

    Can you help me to resolve?
    Thank you very much!
     
  17. Silas Mariusz
    Online

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,591
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,792 / 37 / -8
    Followers:
    36
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
  18. pongan
    Offline

    pongan Nowy użytkownik Noobie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    It's an indication of QNAP support to resolve a problem: more or less in 50% of times, nas power on is blocked in "SYSTEM BOOTING >>>"...
    I follow that method, but AFUDOS.exe not run correctly... I tried more times to make and remake USB disk...
    You can see that the SO on the USB pen drive start correctly, see this screenshot:
    Link: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1d-AlQwjEu6Lr-q4sw4GZIPQTeguCgrSf

    But, the, when i run QW37AR36.BAT, AFUDOS.exe i see this error:
    Link: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1nOg2vvdDF3foWQWvLNRxwxGj2jHuDme5

    I tried also a previous release of AFUDOS.exe (v4.40), it run without runtime error but show that "BIOS is write-protected":
    Link: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1pLkgv3JuUMNKjdVt8Knk1YJW92kignR6

    Have you any suggestion?
     
  19. Paweł Tołoczko
    Offline

    Paweł Tołoczko Enterprise Admin... Q's Architect

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    948
    Location:
    Cork
    Local Time:
    8:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +279 / 5 / -4
    Followers:
    3
    QNAP:
    TS-x70
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
  20. pongan
    Offline

    pongan Nowy użytkownik Noobie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Local Time:
    9:05 AM
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    I solved creating bootable usb disk by Rufus (2.18.1213 portable version), with default configuration except this parameter: "Create a bootable disk using MS-DOS".
    Using RMPrepUSB (v2.1.741 portable version) to create a bootale usb disk, AFUDOS.exe not run in my TS-453 Pro.
    Thank you to all.
     

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. TS-651 board (QW37)

    ,
  2. ts451 jspi1

    ,
  3. qnap ts-251 cmos jumper

    ,
  4. qnap qw37 board