Rozwiązany QNAP TS-453 Pro - DOM Recovery - BIOS update

Discussion in 'Serwisowanie elektroniki oraz modyfikacje' started by Mohammed Mughal, Jan 6, 2020.

Loading...
  1. Mohammed Mughal
    Offline

    Mohammed Mughal Passing Basics Beginner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Local Time:
    10:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    Hi everyone,

    My QNAP was infected last September by the muhstik ransomware, luckily I regularly backup this NAS to another NAS and all my data was safe.

    I powered off the NAS and disconnected it from my network.

    Since then I found someone had written a decrypt tool which I tested and this worked perfectly and decrypted all my data.

    As a precaution I re-initialized my NAS, which should delete all data from the disks.

    This worked fine the NAS booted up OK.

    As a further step I tried to perform a firmware recovery just to make sure there was no trace of the ransomware left on the NAS.

    This is where I've got stuck and now my NAS will not boot.

    I downloaded the latest IMG file from here

    Code (Text):
    1. https://eu1.qnap.com/Storage/TS-X53/TS-X53_20191206-4.4.1.1146.zip
    I extracted the IMG file, renamed it to DOM.IMG and copied it to a bootable USB with "DamSmallLinux"

    The TS-453Pro only has an HDMI and USB ports on the back, no VGA.

    When I connect the NAS to a monitor, keyboard and bootable USB and boot the NAS there is no BIOS boot screen, just a logo made of squares saying "Starting".

    I tried several times but no American Megatrends BIOS screen appears.

    Once the NAS boots I then followed this link

    Code (Text):
    1.  http://qnapsupport.net/teknik-destek/hddler-takili-degilken-bootingde-kalan-cihazlarin-duzeltilmesi/x86-cihazlar-icin-ts-509-809-x39-x59-firmware-reflash/  
    basically to copy the DOM.IMG from the USB to /dev/sdb/ and rebooted the NAS.

    Now the NAS does not boot and I get the following message on the monitor

    "Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key..."

    I have tried the bootable USB in all the slots and still I get the same message.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. pigers
    Offline

    pigers "Debbie" - always ask Silas ! Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    11,734
    Local Time:
    11:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,848 / 41 / -23
    Followers:
    8
    QNAP:
    TS-653D
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-653D 1 GbE
    most recent guide is provided by QNAP : Firmware Recovery - QNAPedia

    plz follow it

    For future: latest Malware remover was able to remove it everywhere. You went overkill .. unnecessary !
     
  3. Mohammed Mughal
    Offline

    Mohammed Mughal Passing Basics Beginner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Local Time:
    10:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    The problem I have is that I can't access the BIOS to select USB as boot device. All I see is the logo screen saying starting. Also, I don't see TS-453 Pro listed in Firmware Recovery - QNAPedia

    Thanks.
     
  4. Silas Mariusz
    Offline

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Local Time:
    11:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,856 / 39 / -9
    Followers:
    38
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    If you see Starting logo screen it means your UEFI BIOS works well.

    Plug out power cord for 30 seconds, plug it again and power on your NAS already connected to HDMI monitor and keyboard. Start pressing F7 button to enter boot screen.
    Try F2 and DEL button too.
     
  5. Mohammed Mughal
    Offline

    Mohammed Mughal Passing Basics Beginner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Local Time:
    10:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    Thanks for the info.

    I did try DEL and F11 (as mentioned in other posts) but they did not work.

    I'll try F7 and F2.

    Thanks.
    --- Połączono posty, Jan 8, 2020, Data oryginalnego postu: Jan 7, 2020 ---
    I've removed all disks.

    F7 get's me into the BIOS to select a boot device.

    DSL fails to boot fully with the message about Auto detection hanging and then powers off the QNAP.

    I managed to boot up using Puppy Linux and copy over the dom.img to /dev/sdb

    On reboot I still get Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key.

    If I select the internal boot device is still get the same message as above.

    I can access the BIOS OK and I have tuned OFF Quit Boot so I can see the BIOS screen now.

    Anything else I can try?
     
  6. Silas Mariusz
    Offline

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Local Time:
    11:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,856 / 39 / -9
    Followers:
    38
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    Tell me what you want to do now.
    Explain please why do you want to do recovery?
    Does system is not booting right?
    Even with disks plugged out?
     
  7. Mohammed Mughal
    Offline

    Mohammed Mughal Passing Basics Beginner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Local Time:
    10:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    I no longer need to do recovery, I did not know that the latest Malware remover would remove the muhstik ransomware.

    I just need the QNAP to boot normally, but it does not.

    All disks have been removed.

    So I've copied over the image file for a TS-x53mini and the qnap boots into "Ready for test"

    Qfinder fails at 65% when updating the firmware, with both options, online or downloaded firmware.

    Whilst in this "test" mode the QNAP powers off automatically after about 5 mins.

    Sorry for so many questions.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Silas Mariusz
    Offline

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Local Time:
    11:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,856 / 39 / -9
    Followers:
    38
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    Have you tried to initialize NAS using new empty HDD?
     
  9. Mohammed Mughal
    Offline

    Mohammed Mughal Passing Basics Beginner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Local Time:
    10:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    I've tried to initialize the QNAP, but the QNAP automatically powers off after about 5 mins even if I just leave it alone. So, basically the QNAP powers off during the initialization process.
     
  10. Silas Mariusz
    Offline

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Local Time:
    11:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,856 / 39 / -9
    Followers:
    38
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    And what is your exactly model ?
     
  11. Mohammed Mughal
    Offline

    Mohammed Mughal Passing Basics Beginner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Local Time:
    10:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    On the bottom of the QNAP it say's TS-453 Pro - I can't find this model in the recovery site, but I can from QNAP's official download site.
     
  12. Silas Mariusz
    Offline

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Local Time:
    11:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,856 / 39 / -9
    Followers:
    38
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE

    Attached Files:

    • DOM.pdf
      File size:
      377.9 KB
      Views:
      90
      md5_sum:
      c162a8f4de34fad590aa721602686b20
  13. Mohammed Mughal
    Offline

    Mohammed Mughal Passing Basics Beginner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Local Time:
    10:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    I'm following the instructions within the PDF, when I boot the USB with the custom QNAP firmware it starts to boot and then hangs after Live Kit done, starting slax...Triggering udev events: /sbin/udevadm trigger --action=add

    I've reformatted the USB and followed the instructions twice and I get the same result.
     
  14. Silas Mariusz
    Offline

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Local Time:
    11:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,856 / 39 / -9
    Followers:
    38
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    Does your NAS have upgraded RAM?
     
  15. Mohammed Mughal
    Offline

    Mohammed Mughal Passing Basics Beginner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Local Time:
    10:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    Yes it does.

    Which one should I remove?

    I can boot using Puppy Linux I could do;

    "dd if=F_TS-X53_20140916-1.2.8.img=/dev/sdb bs=1k”

    Would that work?

    Thanks.
     
  16. Silas Mariusz
    Offline

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Local Time:
    11:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,856 / 39 / -9
    Followers:
    38
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
  17. Mohammed Mughal
    Offline

    Mohammed Mughal Passing Basics Beginner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Local Time:
    10:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    I got the same result, "Ready for test" appears on the screen on the QNAP and on the monitor I get the name of of the QNAP as TESTFC03#

    Should I format /dev/sdb ?

    And then try the dd command again?
    --- Połączono posty, Jan 9, 2020, Data oryginalnego postu: Jan 9, 2020 ---
    I've removed one memory module, and I still get "Ready for test".
     
  18. Silas Mariusz
    Offline

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Local Time:
    11:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,856 / 39 / -9
    Followers:
    38
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    Try the old method with cp command. Firmware Recovery - QNAPedia
    But use correct firmware that I gave you.

    To be honest in firmware recovery method in 100% cases user is doing mistake. It should work.
     
  19. Mohammed Mughal
    Offline

    Mohammed Mughal Passing Basics Beginner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Local Time:
    10:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Followers:
    0
    QNAP:
    TS-x53
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x53 1 GbE
    I've many hours and followed the instructions very carefully and I get the same result.

    The QNAP boots into test mode, it get's an IP address, I can connect to it using QNAP finder.

    But the QNAP powers off after about one minute.

    So I can not upgrade the firmware using QNAP finder.

    How can I stop the QNAP from powering off automatically so that the firmware upgrade can complete?

    Thanks.
    --- Połączono posty, Jan 10, 2020, Data oryginalnego postu: Jan 10, 2020 ---
    I've managed to recover the QNAP :)

    The issue was for some reason the USB mouse and keyboard, this was causing the QNAP to power off when booted in test mode.

    Just for info I did the following;

    1. download Puppy Linux 32bit
    2. download UNetbootin
    3. download Qfinder Pro from the QNAP website from Utility section
    4. format a spare USB as FAT32
    5. download correct RECOVERY firmware for QNAP, this is NOT the same as the firmware on the QNAP download site
    6. use UNetbootin to create a bootable Puppy Linux iso on the USB
    7. copy recovery firmware to USB
    8. insert USB drive, mouse keyboard, monitor VGA or HDMI into QNAP
    9. boot QNAP
    10. keep pressing F7 or DEL or F2, for me F7 did the trick
    11. you may have to try the keyboard in other USB slots if it does not respond
    12. to test the keyboard is being detected press the num lock key if the LED turns on / off the keyboard has been detected
    13. from the BIOS boot menu choose your USB device
    14. select the first option to boot Puppy Linux
    15. wait for the desktop to load
    16. use the mouse to launch the terminal - aka command window, top of the screen
    17. if the mouse does not work try another USB port
    18. if the mouse still does not work then access the menu by pressing ALT+F1
    19. navigate the menu and find terminal
    20. enter the following commands

    #fdisk -l

    /dev/sda and /dev/sda1 are your USB drive

    depending on your QNAP you will also see, this is the internal drive

    /dev/sdb
    /dev/hda

    for me it was /dev/sdb we need to mount the USB drive to Puppy Linux

    #mkdir usbdrive
    #mount /dev/sba1 usbdrive/
    #cd usbdrive

    21. there are a coupe of options here both work

    make a copy for the recovery firmware and call it dom.img

    #cp F_TS-X53_20140916-1.2.8.img dom.img

    copy dom.img to the target disk on the QNAP

    a. #cp dom.img <target disk>

    eg. #cp dom.img /dev/sdb

    or extract the content of the recovery file and copy it to the target disk

    b. #dd if=<recovery firmware file name> of=<target disk> bs=1K

    eg. #dd if=F_TS-X53_20140916-1.2.8.img of=/dev/sdb bs=1K

    power off the QNAP

    #poweroff

    this causes the QNAP to reboot, don't know why

    22. pull out the power from the QNAP when you see the monitor display a reboot message
    23. REMOVE USB drive, keyboard, mouse - this is important, this cost me HOURS of time because the QNAP will poweroff automatically if you don't remove them. You can leave your monitor plugged in.
    24. plug the power back in and power on the QNAP
    25. wait for QNAP to boot, you will hear beeps and Ready for testing will appear on the QNAP screen.
    26. start Qfinder
    27. this will find your QNAP in test mode
    28. right click on the name of the discovered QNAP and select Upgrade Firmware. the user name and pass word are admin all lower case
    29. Qfinder will reboot the QNAP after installing the firmware
    30. for me it happened both times after upgrading the firmware that the QNAP screen displays SYSTEM BOOTING, but on the monitor I had the message Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key.

    If this happens just unplug an plug the power back in it will boot up OK.

    Once fully booted log in via http

    Hope that helps.

    Thank you Silas Mariusz for helping I would still have a dead QNAP without your help!
     
    • Wygrany! Wygrany! x 1
  20. Silas Mariusz
    Offline

    Silas Mariusz SysOp Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Local Time:
    11:30 AM
    Ratings:
    +1,856 / 39 / -9
    Followers:
    38
    QNAP:
    TS-x77
    Ethernet:
    1 GbE
    TS-x77 1 GbE
    No problem man.
    Enjoy!